Cheongsong Yasong Art Gallery (군립 청송야송미술관) - Area information - Korea travel information

Cheongsong Yasong Art Gallery (군립 청송야송미술관)

Cheongsong Yasong Art Gallery (군립 청송야송미술관)

10.1Km    2025-01-13

5162, Gyeongdong-ro, Cheongsong-gun, Gyeongsangbuk-do
+82-54-870-6536

The Cheongsong Yasong Art Gallery opened on April 29, 2005. The art gallery exhibits 350 Korean paintings and pottery works of Yasong Lee Won-jwa, who is a traditional Korean painter native to Cheongsong. Also on display are around 50 works of noted painters and sculptors from in and out of Korea, and over 10,000 art books, all of which have been donated to the gallery. The two-story building was formerly Sinchon Primary School, which was remodeled into an art gallery after its closure.

Palpal Sikdang (팔팔식당)

Palpal Sikdang (팔팔식당)

10.2Km    2024-12-10

Palpal Sikdang is a restaurant located north of Juwangsan National Park. The menu is simple with only three items: dak baeksuk (whole chicken soup), chicken wings, and chicken bulgogi. Dak baeksuk is a bowl of chicken porridge served with chicken. The restaurant’s chicken wings are a dish made only with barbequed chicken wings characterized by a crispy texture and rich seasoning. Chicken bulgogi is a dish of chicken mixed with red pepper paste seasoning and grilled on an iron plate. It goes well with vegetable wraps. It has a spicy taste but is not too spicy, so even children can enjoy it. By the restaurant’s entrance is a clean, drinkable mineral spring water that flows down from the mountains.

Mukgyeseowon Confucian Academy & Mukgye Head House of Andong Kim Clan (묵계서원 및 안동김씨 묵계종택)

Mukgyeseowon Confucian Academy & Mukgye Head House of Andong Kim Clan (묵계서원 및 안동김씨 묵계종택)

10.6Km    2024-05-29

1736-5 Chunghyo-ro, Giran-myeon, Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do

Mukgyeseowon Confucian Academy was founded in 1687, but was mostly destroyed in 1869, leaving just the lecture hall behind. Recently, these removed buildings have slowly been rebuilt to restore the academy to its former glory. 

Mukgye Head House of the Andong Kim Clan is located near the Confucian academy and features a shrine to Bobaekdang, the founder of the academy. The house was built in a square shape with an open courtyard in the middle and has been maintained in good condition.

Manhyujeong Pavilion (만휴정)

Manhyujeong Pavilion (만휴정)

11.3Km    2025-10-23

42 Mukgyehari-gil, Giran-myeon, Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do
+82-54-852-6800

Manhyujeong Pavilion is the pavilion of Bobaekdang Kim Gye-haeng and was built in 1500. The present building shows a modified appearance through remodeling, and only a part shows the style of the late Joseon dynasty. Kim Gye-haeng was a civil servant in the early Joseon dynasty and held various government posts. However, when he met the tyranny of Yeonsangun, he abandoned the government post and returned to his hometown. After that, a small pavilion was built along Seolmot (currently Sosan 2-ri), but since it was next to the road, he built Manhyujeong Pavilion in a quieter place. If you cross the stream from Mukgyeseowon Confucian Academy and enter the mountain, you can find it located in a magnificent valley that faces southeast and has a waterfall flowing over the rocks.

◎ Travel information to meet Hallyu’s charm - variety show"I Am Solo"
This is another famous site in Andong that was featured in Season 16 of “I Am Solo.” The Manhyujeong pavilion, which awaits visitors alone in a peaceful forest, and the log bridge, which is the only path leading to the pavilion, seem to represent the participants' feelings.

HAHN BY SONO (한 바이 소노)

HAHN BY SONO (한 바이 소노)

11.8Km    2024-12-20

494 , Juwangsan-ro, Cheongsong-gun, Gyeongsangbuk-do
+82-54-518-5058

Cheongsong Folk Crafts Village has a hanok guest-house compound in the Cheongsong Tourist Area of Gyeongsangbuk-do. Daegam’s house, Yeonggam’s house, and Jeongseung’s house have wide floor areas, big yards many rooms, while Saengwondaek and Chambongdaek are simpler, straight-roofed hanoks. All houses have modern toilets. The barn, warehouse and traditional kitchens are presented as they were in Joseon times. As well as arts and crafts the complex houses a traditional pottery village, a pottery exhibition hall, a folk museum, and the intriguing Flower Stone Museum.

Sono Belle Cheongsong Solsaem Hot Spring (소노벨 청송 솔샘온천)

Sono Belle Cheongsong Solsaem Hot Spring (소노벨 청송 솔샘온천)

11.9Km    2024-11-18

494-1 Juwangsan-ro, Juwangsan-myeon, Cheongsong-gun, Gyeongsangbuk-do

Solsaem Hot Spring offers a relaxing escape to visitors with 570 tons of natural spring water daily. Surrounded by the blue forest and clear skies of Cheongsong, the open-air hot spring provides a serene retreat, allowing visitors to unwind and release stress with hinoki bath, neck shower, and underwater massages.  

Juwangsan National Park (주왕산국립공원)

12.8Km    2023-03-13

169-7, Gongwon-gil, Cheongsong-gun, Gyeongsangbuk-do
+82-54-870-5300

Juwangsan Mountain (alt. 720.6 m) is located in the Baekdudaegan Mountain Range, the backbone of the Korean peninsula. The mountain features deep valleys and many sheer rock cliffs to make it the third-largest rocky mountain in the country. Juwangsan Mountain was recognized as a tourist attraction on May 30, 1972, and became the 12th national park a few years later on March 30, 1976. The park is relatively small, filling in an area of just 105.582 ㎢ but it is great for a leisure walk with walking trails along the valleys up to waterfalls.

Juwangsan Mountain was called Seokbyeongsan Mountain during the Silla dynasty due to the many stone peaks jutting out but has been called Juwangsan Mountain since the Unified Silla period. In addition to these tall rocky peaks, Juwangsan National Park also includes four waterfalls, caves, Daejeonsa Temple, and other attractions for a comprehensive tourist site.

Daejeonsa Temple (대전사)

Daejeonsa Temple (대전사)

13.0Km    2023-04-17

226, Gongwon-gil, Cheongsong-gun, Gyeongsangbuk-do
+82-54-873-2908

Daejeonsa Temple is said to have been built by Great Monk Uisang in the 12th year of King Munmu’s reign (672). It was rebuilt in the 13th year of King Hyeonjong’s reign (1672) after a fire destroyed the original temple complex during the Imjin War (1592-1598). During work to renovate Bogwangjeon Hall in 1976, a text that had been put up with the ridge beams was found. Bogwangjeon Hall is a small building and its ceiling is in the shape of a Chinese character that symbolize with the meaning "well" or "pavilion" that looks similar to the sharp(#) symbol. A Birojanabul Buddhist statue is enshrined in the hall.

Supullim (수풀림)

Supullim (수풀림)

13.1Km    2024-12-10

This café is located at the entrance of Juwangsan National Park and is also famous for its Juwangsan Mountain view. The view of Juwangsan Mountain is even better from the second floor. The signature menus here are handmade ssanghwacha (medicinal herb tea) and injeolmi patbingsu (shaved Ice with red beans and injeolmi). The café is a great place to stop by to enjoy the scenery of Juwangsan Mountain before or after the hike. This place also operates as a rattan workshop, showcasing and selling handmade rattan items.

Three Falls of Juwangsan Mountain (주왕산 1.2.3 폭포)

13.3Km    2024-02-13

24 Sangui-ri, Juwangsan-myeon, Cheongsong-gun, Gyeongsangbuk-do

Above Haksodae Cliff in Juwangsan Mountain lie three enchanting waterfalls. The first of these falls goes by the name of Yongchupokpo Falls, where water gracefully meanders through a gorge, enveloped by encircling rocks. Roughly one kilometer further upstream, you'll encounter Jeolgupokpo Falls, accompanied by the tranquil Seonnyeotang Pond below. To the left of Jeolgupokpo Falls stands the grandeur of Yongyeonpokpo Falls, the largest and most magnificent among them. Yongyeonpokpo Falls is also famously referred to as Ssangyongchupokpo Falls, denoting its two distinct torrents of water ('ssang' meaning 'two,' and 'yongchu' signifying 'pond' in Korean). A well-maintained trekking path welcomes visitors, allowing them to explore and ascend to witness these three falls, with a gentle incline that is easily traversed by visitors of all ages.