Sightseeing - Korea travel information

Huirisan Pine Tree Recreational Forest (국립 희리산해송자연휴양림)

Huirisan Pine Tree Recreational Forest (국립 희리산해송자연휴양림)

2022-07-22

Surrounded by majestic pine trees, Huirisan Mountain boasts an outstanding landscape; there is a reservoir at the foot of the mountain. Upon climbing to the top of the mountain, visitor can overlook the scenic West Sea. There are also numerous attractions near Huirisan: Chunjangdae Beach, Geumgang River Banks, and Hansan Mosi Town (“Mosi” referring to “Ramie,” the predominant fabric used for traditional Korean clothing)

The top of the mountain (329m in x_height) is called Munsubong (or Munsu Peak). To the northwest of the Huirisan Pine Tree Recreational Forest is Saindae. Legend goes that four generals used to play there. Indeed, there is a cliff (140m in x_height) just below Saindae where they were believed to do chin-ups. Naturally, people call the area Teokgeolijang (Chin-Up Spot). Traces of Munsusa Temple still remain below Munsubong although it was said to have been destroyed by a huge number of bedbugs. 500m from Munsubong to the south, horse riding trails of the four generals are dotted along the ridge; Malttongbawi (Horse Dung Rock), resembling horse droppings, is 500m from the peak to the southeast.

Below Munsubong are four large peaks where the four generals lived and 100 small rocks beneath them that were home to low ranking men commanded by the generals. Because of their unique shapes, those rocks form a scenic sight while hiking in Huirisan.

Yeonmudae (Dongjangdae) (연무대 (동장대))

Yeonmudae (Dongjangdae) (연무대 (동장대))

2025-10-23

20, Changnyong-daero 103beon-gil, Paldal-gu, Suwon-si, Gyeonggi-do

Yeonmudae located inside Suwon's Hwaseong Fortress, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Situated on a relatively high hill between Changnyongmun (the east gate of the fortress) and Hwahongmun (a north floodgate), Yeonmudae is an excellent military observation post with sweeping views of the inside of the fortress. After the fortress was completed in 1796, Yeonmudae was used as a training ground for troops for over two centuries, where they learned fighting skills involving swords, spears and arrows.

At Yeonmudae, visitors can learn archery while wearing traditional military attire; the fortress also offers a wide array of performances for visitors to appreciate traditional Korean culture. Yeomudae is included in the Suwon City Tour course.

Seomyeon 1beon-ga (Seomyeon First Street) (서면1번가)

Seomyeon 1beon-ga (Seomyeon First Street) (서면1번가)

2019-10-03

61, Sincheon-daero 62beon-gil, Busanjin-gu, Busan
+82-51-605-4091


As one of the busiest streets in Busan, Seomyeon 1beon-ga is also known as the Art Street. It stretches over 330 meters, connecting former Cheonujang and the LG Service Center.

The street bustles with life all day long, full of cafes, bars, and restaurants that offer delicious, but inexpensive food and drinks. In addition, it offers a wide array of entertainment facilities such as movie theaters, performance halls, and game facilities. The streets also serve as a venue for festivals and performances, making it the most popular street in Busan. During weekends, diverse cultural events are held, providing visitors with an opportunity to enjoy street performances as well as engage in activities.

Mukhohang Port (묵호항)

Mukhohang Port (묵호항)

2021-03-17

22, Ilchul-ro, Donghae-si, Gangwon-do
+82-33-530-2271

Situated in Donghae, Mukhohang Port opened in 1941 and used to be the most prolific trading port on the east coast. However, with the steady change in the economy, it has now become a center of fishing. A large wholesale seafood market at the port offers a wide array of freshly caught seafood. From early in the morning, merchants across the country gather at the market to purchase fresh seafood. Dried fish are also available.

Mukho Lighthouse, located atop Dongmunsan Mountain, opened in June 1963 as an unmanned lighthouse guiding ships into Mukhohang Port. The two-story lighthouse is 12 meters tall and is made from cement. The white lighthouse stands out against the blue sea and sky to create a fantastic image. The area surrounding the lighthouse has been turned into a small park. There is a large rock inscribed with a poem about the sea near the park entrance.

Tongyeong Mireuksan Mountain (미륵산(통영))

Tongyeong Mireuksan Mountain (미륵산(통영))

2021-02-25

115, Bongsudolsaem-gil, Tongyeong-si, Gyeongsangnam-do
+82-55-650-0580

Situated in the middle of Mireukdo Island on the southern part of Tongyeong, Mireuksan Mountain (altitude 458.4 meters) is also sometimes referred to as Yonghwasan Mountain after Yonghwasa Temple. Additional temples on the mountain include the more secluded Gwaneumam and Dosoram Hermitages, as well as Miraesa Temple. While not as tall as other mountains, it is famous for its lush forest, valleys with pure water, odd-shaped rocks, and rock caves. The mountain is beautiful year round with royal azalea in spring, bright foliage in fall, and breathtaking views of the Korean archipelago.

Wine Korea (와인코리아)

Wine Korea (와인코리아)

2019-10-05

662, Yeongdonghwanggan-ro, Yeongdong-eup, Yeongdong-gun, Chungcheongbuk-do
+82-43-744-3211

Wine Korea is the only winery in Korea that has a vineyard and produces wine products with its own brand. Opened in 1995, the winery expanded its facilities in 2001 to become an all-in-one stop. Visitors can tour the winery, wine gallery and cellar, taste-test various wines, or enjoy a footbath as part of the many programs available. The winery also has a connection with KORAIL, operating the special wine-themed train.

Gaehwa Art Park (개화예술공원)

Gaehwa Art Park (개화예술공원)

2021-05-24

673-47, Seongjusan-ro, Boryeong-si, Chungcheongnam-do

Situated in Boryeong, the spacious Gaehwa Art Park is a theme art park that houses a variety of parks and attractions: to name a few, Mosan Fine Arts Museum, Birim Park, Yukpilsi Park, Hwain Music Hall, and Herb Land. The orange roof of Mosan Fine Arts Museum was made by using local stones. At Yukpilsi Park, visitors can see over 1,500 sculptures, statues and monuments as well as large stones inscribed with famous Korean poems. At Herb Land, visitors can enjoy dining. Throughout the park, visitors can see seven different ponds, waterfalls, and walking trails as well as animals such as deer, rabbits, and ducks roaming freely.

Pungsuwon Catholic Church (횡성 풍수원천주교회(풍수원성당))

Pungsuwon Catholic Church (횡성 풍수원천주교회(풍수원성당))

2020-03-17

30, Gyeonggang-ro yuhyeon 1-gil, Seowon-myeon, Hoengseong-gun, Gangwon-do
+82-33-342-0035

Pungsuwon was the first catholic village in which over 40 faithful from Yongin (Gyeonggi-do), led by Sin Tae-bo (or St. Peter), settled to escape the wrath of Sinyubakhae (religious persecution of Catholics) of 1801. Over a period of 80 years, the settlers had led their religious lives without a priest until Father Le Merre (a French priest) came to the village in 1888. Succeeding Le Merre in 1896, Father Jeong Gyu-ha (or Augustino), along with Chinese engineers, began to build Pungsuwon Cathedral.

Completed in 1907 by the faithful, the cathedral still remains a beautiful building even after 110 years; it is a popular spot for visitors, having frequently appeared in Korean dramas and films such as “Love Letter (1995 MBC miniseries).” It is the first cathedral built by a Korean priest as well as in Gangwon-do; it is the fourth cathedral built in Korea. Pungsuwon Cathedral was designated as Gangwon-do Local Cultural Property No.69 in 1982.

Wondang Horse Ranch (Let's Run Farm) (원당종마목장 (렛츠런팜 원당))

2026-02-09

233-112 Seosamneung-gil, Deogyang-gu, Goyang-si, Gyeonggi-do

Wondang Horse Ranch became well-known among the public after appearing in a drama. The ranch includes some dangerous facilities and therefore certain restrictions apply to the public. Inside the ranch, visitors can watch horses leisurely roaming in the pasture. The ranch is a place for training jockeys and horse-related workers, and does not serve as a citizen’s park. Hence, drinking, cooking, making noises, engaging in any forms of sports activity including using balls or installing tents are prohibited in this area. In addition, all visitors must clear and take their leftovers, if any, before leaving.

Dora Observatory (도라전망대)

2024-11-28

310 Je3ttanggul-ro, Jangdan-myeon, Paju-si, Gyeonggi-do

Dora Observatory is the closest DMZ observatory to Panmunjeom. From Dora Observatory, one can see not only the Panmunjeom but also the village of Daeseong-dong within the DMZ, mountains and farmlands on the North Korean side, and the city of Gaeseong, a North Korean city and the historic capital of Goryeo (918-1392). Individual visits are not allowed. The observatory can only be accessed through the DMZ Peace Tour, which embarks from Imjingak Pavilion after reservation. All visitors are required to bring their identification, such as passports or Alien Registration Card (ARC).