Sightseeing - Korea travel information

Naebyeonsan Mountain (내변산)

Naebyeonsan Mountain (내변산)

17432     2024-04-07

232, Naebyeonsan-ro, Buan-gun, Jeonbuk-do
+82-63-584-7808

The Byeonsanbando Peninsula has a shoreline that stretches 99 kilometers, protruding into the west sea in Jeollabuk-do, with the Saemangeum, the world’s longest man-made sea barrier, to the north and Gomsoman Bay at its south shore. The peninsula is part of Byeonsanbando National Park, which is widely known for its natural beauty. Its interior mountain range is known as Naebyeonsan Mountain (Inner Byeonsan Mountain.) while the outer region near the sea is known as Oebyeonsan Mountain (Outer Byeonsan Mountain).

The center of Mountain Naebyeonsan includes the highest peak of Byeonsanbando peninsula, Uisangbong Peak (509 meters) and Nakjodae (Sunset Viewpoint), Wolmyeongam Hermitage, Bongnaegugok Valley as well as Jiksopokpo Waterfall. The surrounding mountains and valleys of Byeonsan Mountain are not particularly high, standing at an altitude of around 400-500 meters, but the magnificent formation of mountains and valleys as well as the breathtaking view of the sunset from Nakjodae make it a must-see sight.

Jeonju Traditional Hanji Center (전주전통한지원)

Jeonju Traditional Hanji Center (전주전통한지원)

12430     2024-04-07

100-10, Hanji-gil, Wansan-gu, Jeonju-si, Jeonbuk-do
+82-10-8959-7757

Jeonju has been a major producer of quality hanji paper for more than a thousand years. In keeping with this proud tradition, the Jeonju Traditional Hanji Center aims to preserve traditional paper-making techniques and become a mainstay in the hanji industry. More than 80 percent of the paper produced at the center is exported to Japan while the rest is used in Korea. The center produces, exhibits, and sells hanji used for calligraphy, Oriental paintings, and crafts, as well as special “yellow earth” wallpaper hanji and charcoal hanji, said to provide certain health benefits. Visitors can also sign up for crafting classes, including first-hand experience at making hanji, imprinting patterns and drying the paper.

Muju Anguksa Temple (안국사 (무주))

13908     2024-04-07

1050, Sanseong-ro, Muju-gun, Jeonbuk-do
+82-63-322-6162

As the only temple in Jeoksangsan Mountain, Anguksa Temple was built in 1227 (during the 3rd year of King Chungryeol’s reign) by Monk Wolin. A secret historical archives, called Sagak, was built to store Joseonwangjo Sillok (annals of the Joseon dynasty) in 1614 (during the 6th year of King Gwanghaegun’s reign) within the mountain, while Seonukgak was built in 1641 (during the 19th year of King Injo’s reign) to store Seonwonrok (royal genealogical records). The two sites were designated as Jeoksangsan Historical Archives during the Joseon dynasty. Hoguksa Temple was also built at that time to prevent accidents from affecting the archives. The temple, along with the existing Anguksa Temple, was used to house monk soldiers who protected the archives.

Because of the construction of Muju Power Plant, Anguksa Temple was relocated to the Hoguksa Temple site and rebuilt in 1995. Consisting of 15 buildings, the temple is surrounded by Sanjeong Lake. Boasting exquisite fall foliage, the temple can be easily reached by vehicle along a paved road. The nearby attractions include Muju Resort and Muju Gucheondong Valley.

Gunsan Dongguksa Temple (동국사(군산))

Gunsan Dongguksa Temple (동국사(군산))

16076     2024-04-07

16, Dongguksa-gil, Gunsan-si, Jeonbuk-do
+82-63-462-5366

Dongguksa Temple was built by Japanese monk Seoneungbulgwan in 1909. The temple was run by Japanese monks for 36 years during the Japanese occupation, reverting to Korean jurisdiction when Korea was liberated in 1945. The historical temple is the only surviving Japanese-style temple in the nation.

The temple is characterized by its two main buildings, Daeungjeon Hall and Yosachae, which are connected by a corridor, and the temple’s relative lack of decoration, which stands as a sharp contrast to the brilliantly-colored Korean temples. Dongguksa Temple was officially designated as Cultural Asset in July 2003 and is now a branch temple of Seonunsa Temple in Gochang, the 24th district of the Korean Buddhist Jogye Order.

Buan Naesosa Temple (내소사 (부안))

Buan Naesosa Temple (내소사 (부안))

29741     2024-04-07

243, Naesosa-ro, Buan-gun, Jeonbuk-do
+82- 63-583-7281

Naesosa Temple was built by Buddhist Monk Hye-Gu in 633 during the Baekje dynasty and was rebuilt by Monk Cheong-Min in 1633 during the Joseon dynasty. The Daeungbojeon Hall was built at this time. In 1986, the temple area was designated as a culturally protected area.

On both sides of the main gate are large fir trees, which also line the path into the temple. Upon reaching the temple itself, the first thing that draws attention is the 1000-year-old Dangsan tree. Long ago, people used the base of the tree as a site of prayer.

Housed in Beomjonggak is a bronze bell that can be found in many Buddhist temples. This particular bell was made during the Goryeo era and is engraved with three images of Buddha, called Samjonsang. The center building of the temple, called Daeungbojeon Hall is also an artistic masterpiece, decorated with splendid colors and designs. The flower Salmun doors featuring lotus and chrysanthemum flowers add another element of traditional beauty to the building.

Mireuksa Temple Site [UNESCO World Heritage] (익산 미륵사지 [유네스코 세계문화유산])

Mireuksa Temple Site [UNESCO World Heritage] (익산 미륵사지 [유네스코 세계문화유산])

22104     2024-04-07

362, Mireuksaji-ro, Iksan-si, Jeonbuk-do
+82-63-859-3873

Mireuksa was the largest Buddhist temple of the ancient Baekje Kingdom (18 BC-AD 660). According to Samgukyusa (historical records published in 1281), King Mu (30th king of Baekje, in power AD 600-641) and his wife Queen Seonhwa were said to have seen a vision of Mireuksamjon (the three Sanskrit) emerging from a large pond. At the time of their revelation, the king and queen were on their way to visit a Buddhist monk in Sajasa Temple on Yonghwasan Mountain (now known as Mireuksan Mountain). In response to their vision, the king drained the nearby pond and established Mireuksa Temple. The temple is believed to have shown the most advanced architectural and cultural skills of Baekje, Silla, and Goguryeo (the three main kingdoms at that time). Records indicate that King Jinpyeong of Silla even sent his craftsmen over to assist with the temple construction.

The two main features of the Mireuksa Temple Site are the stone pagoda (Mireuksaji Seoktap) and the flagpole supports (Mireuksaji Dangganjiju). The 14.24-meter-high west stone pagoda (National Treasure No. 11) is the oldest and largest Korean stone pagoda in existence. The west pagoda currently has only six tiers, but is estimated to originally have had nine. The nine-story east stone pagoda (27.67 meters in x_height) was restored to its original stature in 1993 based on historical records. Other surviving landmarks include the flagpole supports (Treasure No. 236) to the south of the stone pagodas. The 395 centimeter-tall poles are estimated to have been created during the Unified Silla period (AD 676-935) and are set 90 meters apart from east to west.

Wanju Songgwangsa Temple (송광사(완주))

Wanju Songgwangsa Temple (송광사(완주))

20795     2024-04-07

255-16, Songgwangsuman-ro, Wanju-gun, Jeonbuk-do
+82-63-243-8091

Songgwangsa Temple in Wanju-gun, Jeollabuk-do has a unique history that spans a period of over a thousand years. For many years the temple lay incomplete until Monk Bojo Chejing began reconstruction in the 7th year of King Gyeongmun of Silla (AD 867). The temple was destroyed at one point in time, but Master Monk Jinul prayed that it be rebuilt. In accordance with his fervent hopes, in the 1600s the monk’s followers rebuilt a number of the temple’s halls and buildings, many of which can still be seen today. The temple is also remembered as the temple that King Injo helped rebuild with the hope that his two sons, who had been taken hostage by the Qing dynasty during the Byeongjahoran War (Chinese invasion of Korea in 1636), would be returned safely and that Buddha would heal the nation.

One of the Korea’s four major temples, Songgwangsa is home to Jijangbosal and Siwangsang statues (found in Jijangjeon Hall), a Seokgayeorae statue, and 500 Nahansang statues (found in Nahanjeon Hall). The temple is also home to eight Tangible Cultural Assets and four Treasured Cultural Assets: Daeungjeon Hall, the Samsebulsang statues, the bell-tower, and the Sacheonwangsang statue.

Beloved for its historical significance as well as its beauty, the temple draws throngs of worshipers throughout the year. In spring, many tourists flock to the area to explore the temple and walk through the nearby cherry blossom tunnels. A worthwhile attraction for visitors of all ages, the temple is particularly well-suited for those with mobility problems since it is located on ground level.

Jinpo Maritime Theme Park (진포해양테마공원)

Jinpo Maritime Theme Park (진포해양테마공원)

17225     2024-04-07

12, Naehang 1-gil, Gunsan-si, Jeonbuk-do
+82-63-454-7873

The Jinpo Maritime Theme Park opened in 2008 to commemorate Jinpodaecheop, the sweeping victory of Jinpo in the naval combat against the Japanese forces led by General Choi Mu-seon in 1380. Constructed with a scenic backdrop of the local port and the vast sea, the park houses 16 retired military crafts of 13 models. On display at the park are vintage tanks, historical artillery, combat planes, and warships including the Wibongham Ship, a vessel that was used in combat during the Vietnam War. Visitors can also explore the interior of decommissioned warships. The exhibition hall inside the Wibongham Ship showcases weapons used during the Jinpodaecheop War, artillery made by General Choi Mu-seon, and the typical life inside the warship.

Gochang Munsusa Temple (문수사 (고창))

30903     2024-04-07

135, Chilseong-gil, Gochang-gun, Jeonbuk-do
+82-63-562-0502

Nestled on the slope of Munsusan Mountain (alt. 621 m) in Gochang, Jeollabuk-do and Jangseong, Jeollanam-do, Munsusa Temple is located in the area of a dense mountain ridge to the west of Gosu Kiln Site in Gosu-myeon, and Josan Reservoir. The ridge features clean water and a thick forest that has remained uncontaminated due to its isolated location.

The temple's establishment date is uncertain. The temple houses Daeungjeon Hall (Local Tangible Cultural Heritage No. 51) and Munsujeon Hall (Local Tangible Heritage No. 52), as well as Myeongbujeon and Hansanjeon Halls. Daeungjeon is a small building featuring the unique architecture of gable roofing. Visitors will be fascinated by the temple's scenery, boasting valley waters flowing from dense forests. It is particularly beautiful in fall, when the autumn foliage harmonizes well with the colors of the old temple. The temple grounds are surrounded by a colony of maple trees 100 to 400 years old.

The Forest of Maple Trees at Munsusa Temple, Gochang, was designated in 2005 as Natural Monument No. 463. It covers the area from the entrance of Munsusan Mountain to the entrance of Munsusa Temple with nearly 500 maple trees lining the 80 meter-long path.

Iksan Ipjeomni Ancient Tombs (익산 입점리 고분)

Iksan Ipjeomni Ancient Tombs (익산 입점리 고분)

7115     2024-04-07

80, Ipjeomgobun-gil, Iksan-si, Jeonbuk-do
+82-63-859-5875

The Iksan Ipjeomni Ancient Tombs are a group of ancient Baekje-era tumuli located 100 meters above sea level on the northeast brow of Chilmokjae Hill in Ipjeom-ri, Iksan-si, Jeollabuk-do. The burial ground covers an area of more than 18,520 square meters and is officially listed as Historical Site No. 347. To date, a total of eight tumuli have been excavated, all of which are chamber tombs.

Surprisingly enough, the tombs were first discovered in 1986 by a high school student. While digging for arrowroot, a young man from a local high school found some pieces of gold that resembled a hat. He quickly notified the authorities and it was soon discovered that the pieces of gold were in fact valuable ancient artifacts. An emergency excavation was conducted and the eight tumuli were uncovered, but unfortunately all of the tumuli except Tomb No. 1 had been severely damaged. Tomb No. 1, which is still in relatively good condition, boasts an entrance measuring an impressive 16 meters in x_height and 2 meters in x_width.

Inside the tombs archaeologists found valuable relics from the Baekje dynasty including earthenware, jewelry (a gilt-bronze hat, gold earrings, glass beads, etc.), harnesses and ironware. Given the shapes and the types of the pieces found, historians estimate that the tumuli were built in the 5th century. Since the gilt-bronze hat is similar in shape to those found in Japan, experts believe that there was an active exchange between the Baekje people and the people of Japan.