Yeongju Museom Village (영주 무섬마을) - Area information - Korea travel information

Yeongju Museom Village (영주 무섬마을)

Yeongju Museom Village (영주 무섬마을)

18.5 Km    21936     2021-08-24

31-12, Museom-ro 234beon-gil, Yeongju-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do
+82-54-638-1127

Located in Sudo-ri in Yeongju, Gyeongsangbuk-do, Museom Village is a charming hanok village surrounded by water. Flowing down from Sobaeksan Mountain and Taebaeksan Mountain, Naeseongcheon Stream and Yeongjucheon Stream converge and loop around Museom Village, surrounding the village on three sides with water. This peninsula-like village is not only the center of traditional Korean culture, but also has a gorgeous natural landscape complete with a wide sandy riverside and a lush inland forest.

Known for Haeudang and Manjukje Houses (two of the most historical hanok houses in the area), the village is also home to other outstanding traditional houses such as the Kim Gyu-jin House and the Kim Wi-jin House. Manjukje House is located at the heart of the village and the oldest traditional house in this hanok village. Manjukje was built in 1666 (7th year of King Heonjong's reign) by Bak Su (the father of the Bannam Bak Family).

Nearby Manjukje is Manun House, built in the early 19th century and named after Kim Hwi-geol (penname “Manun”). The house later became the home of the wife of the famous poet Jo Ji-hun, author of “Byeolli,” a poem expressing the beauty of Museom Village.

Other notable houses include the Kim Wi-jin House (a house belonging to aristocrats), the Kim Jeong-gyu House (a house without the traditional outer fencing), and the Bak Jae-yeon House, where the writings of Bak Gyu-su (a respected scholar during the Joseon period) still remain today.

Another famous attraction in the village is the Single Log Bridge, which was the village’s only connection to the outside world for over 350 years before the construction of Sudo Bridge in 1979. It is a tiny bridge in terms of x_width (30 cm), but it stretches for over 150 meters. It is said that the bridge was rebuilt annually after being destroyed each rainy season. With the construction of Sudo Bridge, the Single Log Bridge was no longer needed, but was rebuilt some time later in its original form. To celebrate the bridge’s impressive history, the village hosts the Single-Log Bridge Festival every October.

Byeolcheongung (별천궁)

Byeolcheongung (별천궁)

18.5 Km    51     2021-03-30

141, Bongjeongsa-gil, Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do
+82-54-857-4168

It is a restaurant with a hanok interior. This restaurant's signature menu is set menu with grilled salted mackerel. This Korean dishes restaurant is located in Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do.

Manjukjae House[Korea Quality] / 만죽재 고택[한국관광 품질인증]

Manjukjae House[Korea Quality] / 만죽재 고택[한국관광 품질인증]

18.5 Km    1     2023-10-24

11-10 , Museom-ro 234beon-gil, Yeongju-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do
+82-54-638-1127

Manjukjae House is the oldest hanok in Museom Village, Yeongju, Gyeongsangbuk-do, with a history dating back 360 years. Originally built by Park Su to live the life of a reclusive gentleman after the Manchu Invasion of Korea, the house has been passed down from generation to generation through 13 generations. There are four guest rooms, Seomgye Chodang, Sarangchae (detached building), Anchae (main building), and Chaekbang (study), all of which can accommodate two people. Among them, Seomgye Chodang offers the best view, from where guests can enjoy the scenery of the log bridge in Museom Village, the Naeseongcheon Stream, and the white sandy beach. With the windows wide open, you can enjoy the cool breeze and the soothing sounds of nature.

Museom Single-Log Bridge Festival (무섬외나무다리축제)

Museom Single-Log Bridge Festival (무섬외나무다리축제)

18.5 Km    4862     2021-01-09

41, Museom-ro 234beon-gil, Yeongju-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do
• 1330 Travel Hotline: +82-2-1330 (Korean, English, Japanese, Chinese) • For more info: +82-54-630-8703

Museom Village is surrounded by water on three sides as it is located at the place where Naeseongcheon Stream (the upstream of Nakdonggang River) and Seocheon Stream meet. The village is called Sudori, or Museom, meaning an island in an inland area. It is a traditional village which has nine cultural assets, including Haeudang House (Folk Item No. 92).

The Museom Single-Log Bridge Festival, a landmark celebration of Yeongju, is held every October. The Museom Single-Log Bridge is one of the 100 most beautiful paths of Korea selected by the Ministry of Land, Transport and Maritime Affairs. The bridge is only 23-centimeters wide and it connects the village to the land across the stream surrounding it. The festival aims to preserve and promote the nation’s traditional culture. During the festival, one can enjoy and take part in a wide variety of folk events including the intramural Ssireum (traditional wrestling) Competition, Nongak (farmer’s music) Performance, Satto (chief of the village) Parade, crossing the bridge with a cow, a groom marching on a horse and a traditional wedding ceremony.

Jukheon Traditional House [Korea Quality] / 죽헌고택 [한국관광 품질인증]

Jukheon Traditional House [Korea Quality] / 죽헌고택 [한국관광 품질인증]

18.6 Km    514     2023-09-05

24 , Taejangjukheon-gil, Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do
+82-10-5217-2174

Jukheon Old House is an old house near Bongjeongsa Temple in Andong, Gyeongsangbuk-do. Originally built in 1886 by independence activist Kim Ga-jin, it was later acquired by Jukheon Lee Hyeon-chan and until recently was used as a family gathering place for jaesa ancestral rites. There are three 2-person guestrooms (Jukheon Gallery Room, Seojae Room and Elizabeth Room) and one four-person room (Jukheon-dong Farm Room). Visitors can explore the old thatched millhouse with its ancient treadmill, or enjoy a walk along Queen Elizabeth Road to Bongjeongsa Temple. A simple complimentary breakfast is provided.

Nakgangmulgil Park (낙강물길공원)

Nakgangmulgil Park (낙강물길공원)

18.7 Km    0     2024-05-30

423 Sanga-dong, Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do
+82-54-852-6800

Nakgangmulgil Park, called the Giverny of Korea, is a small waterside park located near Andong Dam. The park is the perfect setting for a relaxing moment, with benches placed under trees and beside walkways throughout the park. The natural environment creates plenty of photo spots. Visitors looking for a longer walk in nature can follow the riverside deck to Wolryeong Park.

Seokcheongyegok Valley (석천계곡)

Seokcheongyegok Valley (석천계곡)

18.7 Km    13452     2022-09-19

Samgye-ri, Bonghwa-gun, Gyeongsangbuk-do
+82-54-679-6334

Waters from the Taebaek Mountains forged Seokcheongyegok Valley, located in Bonghwa-gun, Gyeongsangbuk-do. The valley is wide, shallow, and surrounded by thick pine forests. Broad, flat rocks are scattered throughout, and the valley is a great place for children to play. Next to the valley, visitors will also find Seokcheonjeong Pavilion, which was built in 1535. This pavilion, made of Bonghwa red pine trees called Chunyangmok, and mounted on stone, offers a great view of the nearby scenic mountain.

Ongcheon 21segi Jjinppang (옹천21세기찐빵)

Ongcheon 21segi Jjinppang (옹천21세기찐빵)

18.7 Km    51     2021-03-24

959-7, Gyeongbuk-daero, Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do
+82-54-859-7058

This is a place where you can enjoy unique steamed bread at an affordable price. This restaurant's signature menu is steamed bun with red bean filling. This Korean dishes restaurant is located in Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do.

Sogang House [Korea Quality] / 소강고택 [한국관광 품질인증]

Sogang House [Korea Quality] / 소강고택 [한국관광 품질인증]

19.0 Km    5128     2022-03-31

22, Baraemi-gil, Bonghwa-eup, Bonghwa-gun, Gyeongsangbuk-do
+82-10-9189-5578

Located in Baraemi Village, Bonghwa, Gyeongsangbuk-do, Sogang House is a hanok that is over 100 years old. Baraemi Village, the Uiseong Kim clan village, has lots of old houses remaining, but Sogang House has an outstanding history and ambiance. The house was built around 1910 by Namho Kim Roi-sik, a renowned wealthy patriot in Gyeongsang-do, for his second son, Sogang Kim Chang-gi when he was married. Kim Roi-sik is a figure who donated the money secured on his whole possession when the Provisional Government of Korea in Shanghai was raising contributions, and received the Order of Merit for National Foundation. Sogang House is a D-shaped hanok with the adjoining sarangchae and anchae. Even the door frame of the house is built with the chunyang pine, showing the elaboration put in its building. As it is not easily twisted or rotten, chunyang pine is the best pine for architecture that was used for building the palace, the temple, and houses of aristocrats in the Joseon period. There are six guest rooms, including Sarangbang and Eosabang. Sarangbang contains two rooms and veranda, Seonbibang is the room that sunshine comes in the earliest in the morning, and Doryeongbang is the only ondol (floor-heated) room that is built with red clay. Every room has an air-conditioner and the lovely garden with a flower tree is seen through the open window.

Andongho Lake (안동호)

Andongho Lake (안동호)

19.0 Km    18661     2021-01-29

Hoban-ro, Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do
+82-54-856-3013

Known as a popular fishing spot and recreation site, Andongho Lake is an man-made lake created by obstructing the upper stream of the Nakdonggang River as part of the government’s Four Major Rivers Restoration Project. Andong Dam is the second largest dam in Korea, following Soyanggang Dam. The x_height of the dam is 83 meters and the length is 612 meters.

The landscape surrounding Andongho Lake is nothing short of magnificent. There is a dock for boats on the lake, which is also popular as a fishing destination. Bass caught here are especially strong and tasty. An international bass fishing tournament is held here every year. There are also tourist attractions nearby such as the Dosanseowon Confucian Academy and Andong Hahoe Village.